I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

In which her absence becomes clear

So my life has been turned around, violently shaken and left for dead since I last wrote.

Too dramatic.

A not good thing happened a few months ago.

Too vague.

Okay, here’s the chizz (or shizz, or whatever it is the cool kids are saying these days)… Tony got laid off.

He is fine, I am fine, the kids are fine.  Everything is fine, fine, fine.

Until June.  When the insurance runs out.  Then I will be feeling un-fine.  Until then I choose to smile, nod, and feel…. fine.

Clearly, my life has changed a bit since I last wrote.  Let’s go over some of the changes.

  • Tony no longer travels four days a week.
  • We now have a car payment because his job included a car and we aren’t good sharers.
  • We have another cell phone to pay for.
  • Tony is home during the day.
  • My computer has become “our” computer.
  • And by “our” I mean his until I throw a temper tantrum or steal it when he goes pee.
  • Cooper started mother’s day out.
  • Cooper loves mother’s day out.
  • Cooper is still a complete brat.
  • Except at mother’s day out.
  • Jack is exactly the same.
  • Tony is mildly medicated.
  • I am more strongly medicated.
  • Tony is home all the damn time.
  • I have a part-time job.
  • We went through our budget and cut out all the stupid things we were doing to waste money.
  • We did this without arguing.
  • Really.  No arguing.  Where the hell is my Nobel Peace Prize?
  • Tony has lost over twenty pounds simply by eating smaller portions.
  • I am now eating his old portion sizes and expect to outgrow all my pants any day now.
  • Shut up, I can still zip them if I lie down.
  • Tony doesn’t go out of town anymore.
  • Ever.
  • Seriously.  He’s here when I get up, he’s here when I go to bed.  He never leaves.
  • We got rid of Dish network & AT&T and bundled our TV, inernet, & phone with Cox cable.
  • I love Cox.
  • I would shout that from a mountaintop, but am afraid people would misunderstand and make inappropriate suggestions to me.
  • I have clearly lost my train of thought….

Stay tuned.

4 responses to “In which her absence becomes clear

  1. beonin January 1, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Having a housemate living with me due to layoffs, I can empathize. I thought my house was loud and chaotic BEFORE, but just wait until Spring break and Summer break when there will be 8 people, 5 under the age of 10, in my suddenly not very big house. heh!
    You have a gift there, Jennifer. You make even the most mundane things fabulously entertaining and uproariously funny. I ❤ it when you blog.

  2. cara December 31, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I’ll send you my old clothes now that they are too big, that way, you don’t have to go shopping; at least!

Leave a Reply

