I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

Job Hunting for Schmucks

I’m not sure how it happened, but around 11 a.m. today, Tony and I found ourselves alone in the house with nothing to do.  Because he travels frequently and I usually have a child or two requiring my attention, this is a rare occurrence.  Of course we did what any healthy, young, married couple would do.  We went to the movies.

That’s not a euphemism.

We saw Dinner for Schmucks.  On the drive home we discussed the movie.  I felt it was silly, but in a good way.  Tony was bothered that the title is “Dinner for Schmucks”, yet they never refer to the dinner as such.  They call it “the dinner” or “dinner for idiots”, but I don’t recall hearing the word schmuck even once during the movie.  This didn’t bother me until he pointed it out.  Now it’s driving me nuts.  Damn mind control.

When we got home we did what any healthy, young, married couple would do.  We went to our respective computers and checked our email.

Again, not a euphemism.

I was delighted to continue my schmuck themed day with this inbox gem.  It’s an actual cover letter that accompanied a real resume submitted by a legitimate job seeker earlier today.  I can’t say who sent it on to me, because I don’t want to get anyone in trouble, but I promise it’s not fabricated.

Leave a Reply

