I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

Ham

Today is crazy hair day at school, so Jack wanted spiky green hair.  I had no problem with this, except the boys had dentist appointments at 9:00.  I had to decide if Jack would go to the dentist with crazy hair, or if I would be spiking and coloring hair in the school parking lot.  I opted for crazy hair at the dentist.  Then I told Jack we were going to play it straight and not explain his hair unless someone asked a direct question about it.

He did great.  He didn’t blush when people stared.  He didn’t even crack a smile when a little girl yelled, “Mommy, look at that boy’s hair!”

After his check up, he got to choose a prize.  He picked a fake mustache and immediately wanted to wear it.  I thought it was a clever choice for crazy hair day.

I had to run to the post office before dropping him at school.  So Cooper, Jack, and I troop into the post office.  Cooper is still furiously screaming because of the dental check up, and Jack is sporting green hair and a mustache.  As we walk in, I remind Jack to play it straight.  He was awesome!

The guy behind the counter had a mustache.  He looked at Jack and said, “Nice ‘stache.”  Jack replied, “Thanks, you too.”

2 responses to “Ham

  1. kimberly March 2, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Now THAT is some crazy hair –I love the brilliant little mind that chose the moustache, and the was able to play it straight!

Leave a Reply

