I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

You wanna come over for dinner?

I made a dessert tonight that was better than anything I’ve had in a restaurant in years.  Seriously.

I was inspired by an episode of Ham on the Street on FLN.  I happened to be flipping channels the other day and stopped to watch.  This guy, Ham I suppose, was walking around a city street with a can of sweetened condensed milk (scm for the remainder of this post).  Because I’m southern, there’s always a can of scm in my pantry, but the only thing I know to make with it is lemon meringue pie.  I really wanted to know what he was going to do with it, especially outdoors.

Ham found a hot dog cart and talked the vendor into letting him put his can of scm in the hot dog warming water.  Appetizing, right?  He left it there to simmer and returned in three hours.  Then he opened the can and the scm had become dulce de leche without the hours of constant stirring it normally requires. He ended up using it in a trifle which looked okay, but I knew I could top it.

So what did I make?  You’re gonna want to go get a paper towel or something before I tell you.  Drool is bad for your keyboard.  I’ll wait….

…got it?

Okay here’s what I did.

I made the dulce de leche by simmering the scm in a pan of water for 3 hours.  Then I took tortillas and spread butter on them, sprinkled them with brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Then I stuck them under the broiler to get it all melty.  Then I put sliced bananas on top of the tortillas and drizzled on some dulce de leche and stuck it back under the broiler for a minute to get the bananas a little warm and gooey.  Then I rolled the tortillas up like crepes and drizzled on more dulce de leche.  I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream topped with, yup, dulce de leche.

Holy calorie bomb!  It was delicious.

Anytime I make a new dish, I immediately pick it apart and decide how I will make it differently the next time.  I know it sounds like that dessert couldn’t be improved, but consider this…

  1. Crepes instead of tortillas
  2. Homemade vanilla ice cream
  3. Saute the bananas in butter and brown sugar and then flambé them in rum, like bananas foster.

You’re totally trying to figure out how to get invited to my house for dinner now, aren’t you?

6 responses to “You wanna come over for dinner?

  1. BloggerDude October 8, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  2. Latretha October 2, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    OMG! I gained 5# just reading that! And I will be trying it this weekend!

  3. Tifany September 25, 2009 at 7:56 am

    OMG…I’m not waiting for an invite. I’ll just be there on the night of Oct 17th and you’ll be forced to feed me or listen to me whine all night! Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

