I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

Dear Abby, you’re a smartass

This morning I was reading the paper and happened to glance at Dear Abby*.  I’m not a regular Dear Abby reader, but the lead sparked my interest: “Woman’s Shocking Discovery Puts Man in Unmarked Grave.” My curiosity peaked, I read on.

Here’s  the gist… a married couple discovers they are half siblings.  The man has a heart attack shortly thereafter.  The woman then writes to Dear Abby because she wonders if she should put “Loving Brother” (ew) or “Loving Husband (ew, ew) on his gravestone.  Abby’s reply?

“He was everything to me.”

*The actual letter sounds fake, but it’s still funny.
7 responses to “Dear Abby, you’re a smartass

  1. austin cressley September 26, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    maybe mackenzie phillips wrote it…..

    • Jennifer September 26, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      Or Dear Abby has started doing a lot of coke and sleeping with her father…

    • Jennifer September 26, 2009 at 10:03 pm

      Okay, Austin Cressley, I’m a little tired today. Hubby has shingles and all. You meant maybe MacKenzie Phillips wrote the LETTER. I read your comment as maybe she wrote the REPLY. Your way is much funnier. Your email address made me chuckle too.

  2. John D Seawright September 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Fake for sure, but fodder for all the fundamentalists in the audience. !!!!

  3. Karin Katherine September 24, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Um, that is just so wrong….and I agree fake.

Leave a Reply

