I'm really not that busy

Finding hilarity in the mundane since 2008

Typical toast

This morning Jack wanted toast for breakfast.  Yay, easy breakfast request!  So I popped it in the toaster oven and set about to do a few quick chores while it browned.  I heard Cooper stirring, so I got him up, changed his diaper, and washed my hands.  Then he wanted dry cereal and milk in a cup.  I put that together, and then Jack appeared in a ridiculously mismatched outfit.  I pulled out an alternate shirt for Jack and then Cooper wanted his clothes too.  Then I remembered the toast.  Too late.  Start over.

Back to getting Cooper’s clothes.  Then Cooper’s cup was leaking, so I had to clean milk off the couch.  Then Jack remembered something vital he needed to tell me about.  It turned out to be a rambling story with no point.  Shit!  The toast!

Third try.  I stayed in the kitchen and unloaded the dishwasher.  This batch turned out perfect.  As I slathered on the butter, I noticed something odd on the toast.  On closer inspection, I realized there was a little spot of toasted mold on one of the slices.  I was paralyzed for a moment.  Do I scrape off this tiny patch of fungus and keep going, or do I open a new loaf and start a fourth batch of toast?

What do you think?

2 responses to “Typical toast

  1. Jennifer September 10, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    That’s exactly what I was thinking. Of course for the rest of the day I have had a line from a Sheryl Crow song running through my head “Bring you comics in bed, scrape the mold off the bread, and serve you french toast again.”

  2. Tifany September 10, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    I have no doubt in my mind that you did what any good, loving mother would do. You flicked off that little bit of mold and watched with admiration as Jack ate his free and unexpected vaccination! Your husband would be proud.

Leave a Reply

